Beads, beads, beads

If you’ve read through my post on my big yarn purchase, you know I love to research before I buy.

img_20161118_160203727
A taste of the Haul

I looked at local craft stores for beads and found that in the bulk quantities I need, it is better to order online. All beads were purchased through Fire Mountain Gems

Crystals

I’m a girl. (Gasp! Shocker!) I like sparkly, shiny things. I wanted my dress to have that sparkle factor. I wanted quality; I’ve heard of off-brand, cheap, mass produced “crystals” breaking when they are used. I also have tried my hand at beading in the past and I know quality beads. I’ve been spoiled.

So I knew I wanted Swarovski® crystals and authentic ones at that. I tried really hard to like the clear finish, which would also cut the cost. But in the end, the heart wants what the heart wants. I wanted AB finish because I love how it shines under the light.

I researched the shapes and cost effectiveness. I’ve decided to use a majority of bicones, one statement crystal, and a few round crystals for variety.

Here’s what I got:

All crystals are genuine Swarovski® crystals, Crystal Passions®, crystal AB finish

3mm faceted round x 144

3mm Xilion bicone x 720

4mm Xilion bicone x 576

6mm Xilion bicone x 360

16 x 11mm faceted baroque pendant x 1

Total: 1801

Pearls

I wanted perfectly round pearls. Not fresh water. Real pearls, however, are WOWZA expensive. Enter Swarovski® crystals again. Here’s what sold me:

Smooth, lustrous and flawless like a classic pearl, these white Swarovski crystal pearls feature a creamy alabaster hue for magnificently elegant design appeal. At the heart of each Swarovski crystal pearl lies a solid core of Swarovski crystal, which is covered in layers of innovative pearlescent “nacre” to create a flawless, silky-smooth surface that resists cosmetics, chemicals and perfumes.

With their reputation and considering this was actually the best price to get what I wanted, I chose these pearls.

I ordered:

White, 4mm round x 2000

What about you?

Where do you allow the budget to rule and where do you set the budget based on quality?

One thought on “Beads, beads, beads

Leave a Reply

