Novel Update; What happened?

This fall I embarked on a goal to write a 50,000 novel. The end result: I wrote 9000 words. I got sick, I lost motivation, I switched tenses, I started to edit instead of write… It was great! I actually mean that sincerely.

word-count

I started something that I want to see through to the end. I don’t have delusions of grandeur here. The book may not may not be good enough to publish. Or I may self publish and sell 1 copy (probably to my mom). That’s not the point for me. I’ve started on a journey that takes a story idea I’ve had in my head for several years (at least 4…) and started to fill it out on paper.

So, yup, I didn’t hit my goal. I don’t like some of what I wrote. I’m now working on the less exciting pieces of novel writing- story diagramming, writing character profiles. It’s less flashy, but I’m excited to keep moving forward. I have a few challenges slowing me down a little bit. I’ve been a lot more active lately and have been trying to knit more to work on my other big projects. I still bring my writing notebook with me everywhere and jot in it when I have some unexpected, unbudgeted time.

I found a great podcast on writing that helps keep me motivated and thinking about my novel. Check out Jenna Moreci‘s podcast. She’s pretty frank and her straight talk helps kick me into gear. Plus I learned how to do character profiles!

I’m super thankful for my writing accountability buddy. We bounce ideas off each other, agonize over our writing, encourage each other, and literally sit next to each other and have writing time. She helps keep the dream alive. We make deadlines for each other. The first was word count, the second was all this background stuff. It keeps it real to print off and hand over your in-progress work. (Ho boy, I better have something to give you!

What about you?

Do you ever have goals you don’t meet? (Are you dreaming BIG enough?)

What’s your inspirational soundtrack or podcast?

 

 

Leave a Reply

