Undercover Cover

undercover-cover-banner

I must confess… I started a new project!

“WHAT.”

I’m sure you are incredulous. When I spent all that time and effort clearing out the queue… How could I?!

I know, I know. Just hear me out.

You see, my dear sweet boyfriend is actually one of those observant types. He knows I love knitting. He encourages me to do it when we watch a movie. He is genuinely interested in how projects are coming along. He gets concerned when my hands start to hurt.

He would DEFINITELY be suspicious if I didn’t seem to work on anything for several months!

It’s not that I love to keep secrets. (I actually sort of suck at it.) I sort of think seeing the dress in progress is kind of like seeing the bride before the wedding. I don’t think it is bad luck, just something that I would like to maintain the air of mystery.

Secondly, I want to get to a point where I’m confident I will be able to finish at least something usable before I tell him. There are a few people I don’t want to fail in front of, and he is one of them.

So I’ll be working on my dress at home or more covertly under the guise of this project. I’ve deemed it the “Undercover Cover”. My boyfriend actually helped me pick this pattern out as my next project (See! I told you he was involved!) It is called the Hue Shift Afghan. I’m making the rainbow version.

41112220_2

There are 100 squares. It is both easy to point out progress and a large enough undertaking to justify the months-long time table.

Other benefits of this project are that it is a relatively simple pattern in the actual knitting. The yarn is much larger than my dress. Plus it is happy. The colors are beautiful. I could make up some symbolism about the rainbow harkening to God’s promises and how we are working on a promise to each other… blah, blah, blah. I didn’t think of any of that in advance. I just liked it.

IMG_20170207_183637673

How does this affect the Plan?

Stop? Go? Too fast, too slow! How does a tandem project affect my goals? I’m glad you asked. If I don’t finish this blanket; no harm, no foul. If I DO and need another alias project, I have a few more blanket ideas in the queue. The next would be either a chunky cabled one or a giant monogram- color work either with my new initial or maybe a house crest from Harry Potter (NERD ALERT).

What about you?

Who encourages you?

When do you throw caution to the wind?

What do you geek out over or what is your favorite fandom?

 

Leave a Reply

